Archive for October 29th, 2013

Sock Wars: Dead for Lack of Underwear

Well, I’m dead. As I was walking from chem lecture to my horn lesson today, a girl I recognized but had never talked to before gently pushed me on the shoulder, then asked if I was Samuel Johnson. I almost took off running, but realized that she had touched me with a sock already. I was a little bit upset, but more because the kill was less climactic than I had hoped. I wanted to be taken down after a high speed chase on foot away from the band building, or something like that. Ah well.

There are basically two reasons why I got out. The first was that I was not doing the immunity, which was to be wearing underwear over your pants. That just crosses my line of embarrassment. The second was that I was simply not paying attention. My plan for the day without immunity was to be careful until rehearsal, then just run going to and from the band building. I was actually kind of looking forward to it. I should have recognized my killer though, because I knew the person who had me was a cymbal player (from a tuba player who overheard the cymbal line talking), and I can recognize most people in the drumline, and should have noticed her coming straight at me with a sock.

So I’ll need to wait til next year for more Sock Wars. As it was, it was likely that I would time-out on my kill tomorrow. My target was one of our drum majors, who tend to take the game fairly seriously, and trying to make a kill tonight without an immunity would have been risky. As it is, I am going to be playing in another game of Assassin with my dorm starting a week from today. It’s considerably smaller, and I think the band game is more fun, but that’s okay.

Something Isn’t Working…

When I started my Daily Devotion category, I planned for it to keep me accountable in studying the Bible or praying daily. For a while, it did its job very well, with only a few missed days. The past couple of weeks though, that plan has begun to backfire a little bit. As my work has ramped up into the normal school year, it has become increasingly difficult to find time to make such posts. On top of the ten to fifteen minutes it takes me to really read and study the passage I’m focusing on or get into prayer, I have found that it commonly takes me up to forty or even fifty minutes for me to write a post about it. That was fine when my workload was smaller than it was in middle school, but it is much more difficult with a full ~18 credit hour courseload each week. So especially the past couple of weeks, I have fallen into the trap of not doing a devotion at all if I can’t write a post about it. It’s kind of silly, but what I meant to hold me accountable has ended up doing the opposite.

For this reason, I’ve decided that I’m going to do my Daily Devotion posts a little bit differently from now on. I will continue to read or pray every day, but instead of attempting to make a post about it every single day, I will write one post at the end of each week listing what I read and maybe a little bit of what I learned. In the end, it will be much less work, but I think it will still be enough to keep me going with my devotions. This will also free up a little bit of time that I can use to make other posts that I’ve wanted to for a while, which I’m excited about. All in all, I think this method will work much better and be less time consuming and almost equally rewarding.

Gungor – God and Country