What I Learned Today

  • That my physics class this semester will probably be a lot of review.
  • That there are over 28 million known compounds that contain the element carbon.
  • That trigonometric identities are kind of important in calculus, despite what my high school calculus teacher may have told me…
  • That it is really difficult to play a gliss up to a ridiculously dissonant chord (concert B flat, C and D flat, all in the horn section) while flutter-tonguing (thanks Jonathan Newman…)

All in all, it was a pretty good first day of classes of the semester. Didn’t sleep particularly well, but woke up in time to have breakfast before going to physics lecture. Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays this semester are going to be pretty nice, because I have physics and chemistry lecture back-to-back (9:00 and 10:00), and right across the hall from one another in the physics building. After those two, I didn’t really do much with my afternoon. I didn’t receive any assignments for either of those classes, and didn’t have anything scheduled until my calculus discussion at 5:00. Discussion was fine, and after that I walked to dinner at one of the other horn player’s house. Then I had my first wind ensemble rehearsal, which was pretty good.

It is a little bit weird to be back in classes, but it feels normal. I’m looking forward to this semester much more than last semester too, which is good. Not counting music ensembles and lessons, I am taking chemistry (first semester of organic), chem lab, physics, physics lab and calc II. Pretty good for a math and science person. Also, learning my lesson from last semester, all of my lecture periods are between 9:00 and 11:00 AM. Last semester, I had my writing class at 8:00 on Tuesdays and Thursdays, but on the other days my first class, German, was at noon. That did not work well for my sleeping. Speaking of sleeping, I should probably do some of that. I am still working on getting myself back to a bedtime shortly after midnight, which I think should be sustainable through the semester.

Comments are closed.