Mixed Up Week

Instead of sticking to Isaiah all week, I ended up jumping around a little bit. Results:

Sunday (the 26th): Either nothing, or I forgot to write down what I read.

Monday: Isaiah 17 through 19. Damascus and Egypt will be destroyed, but then turn back to God, and something will happen to Cush, but I don’t understand what the prophecy says.

Tuesday: Matthew 5. The Sermon on the Mount, so lots of things.

Wednesday: Proverbs 3. Lots of great reminders of wisdom. I chose this passage specifically because of verses 5 through 8: “Trust in the Lord with all your hear, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight. Be not wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord, and turn away from evil. It will be healing to your flesh and refreshment to your bones.”

Thursday: At core group we studied Luke 3: 21 to 4: 15, going from Jesus’ baptism to his genealogy and the temptation in the desert. Because there were so many parts, there wasn’t really one overarching theme that we discussed.

Friday: I did not get very much sleep Thursday night, and Friday was such a long day that when I was ready for bed, I just wanted to go to bed, and didn’t do any devotional time.

Saturday: Isaiah 20 through 22. More oracles (prophecies) about various kingdoms and societies, mostly involving the existing culture being destroyed and rebuilt or replaced.

Comments are closed.