Updates

I realized last night that there were a few things I mentioned here on this blog that I was waiting to hear about or get results from, and then never shared what those results were. So even though some of these are a little bit late, here we go:

  1. I didn’t get into NYO. I was a little bit disappointed, but not surprised. I know a couple of the other horns who auditioned and are doing it and how good they are, so I have a decent idea of the quality they were looking for, and I don’t feel like I’m consistent enough yet. I did get some good feedback on my audition (which was my first video audition), so it wasn’t a waste.
  2. I may be spending my summer with the NYO, but I got a job! I applied for a couple of research-related internships and was looking at a couple more near my home to have for the summer, and I was offered a position at one of them. So I’ll be doing experiments with molecular genetics over the summer. It isn’t exactly pure physical sciences, but it’s a lab job that isn’t far from home with some family friends, so it’s a real blessing. I’m looking forward to it.
  3. I was chosen to be section leader for marching band. I wouldn’t have been upset if I wasn’t chosen, but I’m really looking forward to taking more of a leadership role in band, and it brings a little bit of closure to my questions regarding the interview. S, another first-year guy, and I were chosen, which I think will be a lot of fun. That does mean that I’ll need to be at band camp early for leadership training, so my summer is a little bit shorter, but that’s just part of it.

I think that’s it for now. I’m feeling a little bit stressed because of all the things I have to do by the end of the week. This is the last “full” week of the semester though, so it’s good to know that it won’t continue after Friday.

Comments are closed.