I Think That Counts… (Holy Week)

Sunday: Prayer.

Monday: Nothing.

Tuesday: The Cost of Discipleship, Chapter 6, “The Beatitudes.” My first time reading The Cost of Discipleship in a couple of weeks. This chapter went through the Beatitudes (i.e. “Blessed are the…”) from Jesus’ sermon on the mount, explaining each in more depth. There was one line that really stood out to me, from Bonhoeffer’s explanation of “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied” (Matthew 5: 6): “Not only do the followers of Jesus renounce their rights, the renounce their own righteousness too. They [should] get no praise for their achievements or sacrifices. They cannot have righteousness except by hungering and thirsting for it…”

Wednesday: Isaiah 46 and 47. False gods like the idols of Babylon are dumb and can’t do anything without their makers, unlike the one true God, and Babylon itself is lost and sinful against God.

Thursday: In core group Bible study we talked about girls and sexual sin. There wasn’t one specific passage that we focused on, but we looked at verses from Proverbs 31, 1 Corinthians 6, Ephesians 5 (I think), and 2 Samuel 11, among others.

Friday: Dive Deep with Chi Alpha.

Saturday: Last night I watched The Passion of the Christ (the Mel Gibson movie) with some of the people from my core group and our sister core group who are still on-grounds. I hadn’t seen it before, and I thought it was pretty good. It really puts a “face” on the suffering that Jesus endured for us. I couldn’t watch parts of it, but it was also the bloodiest and most violent movie that I’ve been able to watch without having to take a break, which I was surprised about.

Comments are closed.