Post-Easter Slump (Two Weeks)

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve written anything significant here, so I have a lot of catching up to do. Let’s start with my Devotions…

Sunday, April 20: I forget whether I did a Devotion on Easter, but I went to church with A and M, two Chi Alpha friends.

Monday, April 21: Nothing.

Tuesday, April 22: Isaiah 48. Thinking back on these chapters, they seem to me to read a lot like Psalms, focusing on God’s power and his relationship with his people, but not on a specific event or topic. In this chapter, my study notes have the description “Despite Israel’s stubborn unbelief, God pursues his purpose for redemption.”

Wednesday, April 23: Isaiah 49. When Israel serves the Lord, he blesses them.

Thursday, April 24: Unfortunately, I had to leave our last core group meeting of the semester because of an orchestra dress rehearsal. Rather than a normal Bible study, they spent the time writing “affirmations” to each guy in the group.

Friday, April 25: Nothing.

Saturday, April 26 – Thursday, May 1: I forget when, but there were two nights that I read Isaiah 5o and 51.

Friday, May 2: The Cost of Discipleship, Chapter 7, “The Visible Community.” As the salt of the Earth (and not just “having” the salt of the Earth, being it) we as Christians must be a light to the world. To do otherwise, or to fall back into an invisible community of only Christians is refusing God’s call and disobedience.

Saturday, May 3: The Cost of Discipleship, Chapter 8, “The Righteousness of Christ.” This was probably the most exciting thing that I’ve read in a long time. The chapter deals with the Jesus’ relationship with Jewish law, which is often used as a way to show Christianity in a hypocritical and bad light, and I’ve personally struggled with for a little while. After all, there are definitely passages that outline severe punishments for certain sins, but I don’t know of any Christians (or Jews, for that matter) who subscribe to them. As I was reading, I had an epiphany (epiphany is a fun word). I don’t know whether it was inspired by the text or just my stream of thought, but I finally “figured out” what it means for Christ to fulfill the Law, as it is described in Matthew 5: 17. As with all well-defined rules, there are two parts, forming a sort of if-then statement: If you cheat on a test, then you will fail that test” or something along those lines, and it’s the same way in the Old Testament. We still sin, time and time again, but now that Jesus has come and died for us, he fulfills the law by taking on our punishment, death and separation from God. And that’s pretty cool. I have no idea if that’s news to any of you, but I was pretty excited about it, and thought I’d share.

On to the next post…

Comments are closed.