Archive for July 16th, 2014

An Open Letter to Physics Teachers

This is a post that I wrote back in April following an especially fun physics lab. I meant for it to be longer and a little more humorous, but I don’t remember what my ideas were for it:

Dear Physics Teachers,

Really cold things like dry ice (solid carbon dioxide) and liquid nitrogen are really fun. For this reason, I highly suggest that you use them any time you are trying to explain concepts like ideal gas laws. Sure, you may lose a little bit of productivity when everyone wants to put *insert object here* in the vat of liquid nitrogen, and subsequently touch, play, or break it, but I’m guessing that the time lost will be less than if you are constantly keep your students focused in a lecture. After all, where else are you going to get a chance to play with really cold foggy things that make everything placed in them shatter (or otherwise break)? Your consideration would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Some Kid (definitely not a “mature” college student…)

Eric Whitacre – Leonardo Dreams of His Flying Machine (Performed by Eric Whitacre and the VocalEssence Ensemble Singers)

This came on my iPod twice at work while it was on shuffle.