Normal Week?

Sunday: Nothing.

Monday: The Monday Night Live message was on John 9, where Jesus heals a blind man by making mud out of his spit, rubbing it on the eyes of the man, and telling him to wash in a certain pool. While the story is really funny (think about it) and shows a lot about what faith can do, the general public in the town is unhappy with the claims of the blind man and Jesus that he (Jesus) is indeed the Messiah, and threaten to stone him.

Tuesday: Nothing.

Wednesday: I couldn’t make it to all of Core Group meeting, but we had some good conversation about 1 John 4: 7-21. It’s pretty cool that God may be referred to and known simply as love (verse 8), and this makes it so the core of our lives in faith should also be about love towards anyone and everyone.

Thursday: Psalm 51. A confessional Psalm, this passage includes excellent imagery in honest confession and asking for forgiveness. “Create in me a clean heart, and renew a right spirit within me. Case me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit” (verses 10-12).

Friday: I don’t remember what I did Friday night, but I didn’t do a devotional time.

Saturday: Psalms 52 through 54. Psalm 52 contrasts the actions and fate of an evil and a righteous man. Psalm 53 discusses how those who refuse to follow God or deny Him despite knowing Him are lost, and will only find destruction. Psalm 54 is a simple prayer for God’s protection in a dangerous time.

This week I’m going to start going through the life of Samuel, one of the key prophets in the history of Old Testament Israel.

Comments are closed.